Season of Sharing Program (Social Services Agency)

Providing a Helping Hand Through Life’s Transitions

The Alameda County Social Services Agency administers the Season of Sharing (SOS) year round housing and critical family needs program. SOS is a private fund providing one-time crisis-based assistance for housing and critical family needs to Alameda County residents. The program aims to help eligible households regain stability after experiencing an unforeseen emergency situation beyond the control. Each year the San Francisco Chronicle campaigns through their readerships and private funders to raise money and help households who are in need of emergency assistance and residing in one of 9 Bay Area counties. SSA oversees the administration of the SOS program within Alameda County.

Program parameters and eligibility criteria

To be considered for SOS assistance applicants must be current Alameda County residents for at least 6 continuous months or longer and meet one of the following criteria:

  • Families with children under age 18 residing in the home;
  • Permanently disabled individuals (age 18 & older and receiving SSDI/SSI or medically verified);
  • Elderly individuals, 55 years or older;
  • Emancipated/former foster youth, ages 18-24 (verification of status from Dept. of Children & Family Services or other authorized agency required);
  • Veterans (with verification of veteran status from authorized agency);
  • Victims of domestic violence or violence crimes (incident within the past 6 months); OR
  • Pregnant women in/after their 2nd trimester (physician verification required).

For more information on the program, click here.